The Dude abides; why can’t I

Finding that emotional balance after a period of confusion is no easy task, particularly if you’ve let go of the things that keep you spiritually centered.

I’ve been reading The Dude and the Zen Master, co-written by Jeff Bridges, an artist I find very inspiring, and Bernie Glassman, who is a close friend of his so that’s good enough for me.

It’s filled with conversations we all need to have with our friends, mentors, guides and families… but rarely actually find time for. 

If you don’t know who (or what) The Dude is, then go back and watch The Big Lebowski. 

I’ve been dog-earring pages like crazy, and thought I would share one today. It’s from the chapter, “Yeah, well, ya know” and pages 61-62 in the paperback.

“Jeff: And The Dude Abides… True abiding is a spiritual gift that requires great mastery. The moral of the story, for me, is: be kind. Treat others as you want to be treated. You never know when the stranger you meet on the road may be an angel – or the Dude – in disguise.”

Easier said than done. At times I live in fear of “the other”, not just because of recent experiences of betrayal, “failure”, or even visible social misery among the homeless and hurting in my new city, but also because there is a surrounding environment of fear in popular culture. 

So today, Abide, do not fear. Simple. Breathe, listen, allow the opinions of others to be, and take action in movement on the path in front of me. 

Row, row, row your boat… merrily along. 

Leave a Reply

